“The Greatest Reward”

Here’s an inspiring story told by a teenage girl:

 

It was one of those open house parties–teens smoking and getting drunk. Being a Christian, I knew I probably shouldn’t be there. I had a little voice at the back of my head telling me to get out of there, and fast, but I stayed anyway.

It wasn’t long before I was offered alcohol. Suddenly the voice inside my head became much louder, and I simply said, “No thanks.”

“Oh, don’t be such a baby, Melissa,” said Rachel, my best friend. “Just have a little; it won’t kill you.”

“Yeah, Melissa, you chicken,” said someone in the crowd of people.

It hurt me to hear my best friend trying to make me feel so small and trying to make me do things that were totally against my beliefs. I thought they were against her beliefs, too.

“Rachel, I said no thanks!” I was trying hard to stop myself from crying.

Just then from the back of the room I heard someone start to chant, “Chicken, chicken, chicken,” and then the whole room sort of caught on and everyone started chanting. I so badly wanted the floor to swallow me up and the chanting to stop.

“Come on, Melissa,” Rachel said, “Just take a little; it’s that easy.”

It’s that easy. Hey, I thought, well maybe it is for you and the rest of the people in this room, but not for me.

“Melissa, why don’t you just take a drink?”

“Well, because…because…” I hesitated. “Because I’m a Christian!” I blurted out the words before I could stop myself. Then I burst into tears.

The whole room was silent, and all of a sudden they started laughing at me. I didn’t know what to do, and I was crying uncontrollably. I ran out of that house as fast as I could, barely seeing where I was going. I wanted to run far, far away and never come back.

I suddenly felt very angry. How could you let this happen to me, God? There I was standing up for You and what I believe in, and this is what I get in return. I think You must have made some mistake here.

After a very long Monday of feeling sorry for myself, I was walking through the now empty school hallway when a girl came up to me and said, “Hi.” I was quite surprised, since I remembered she was at the party and witnessed the whole thing.

“I’ve been looking for you the whole day,” she said.

“Really?” I asked. “Why?”

“Well, I know that what happened to you at the party on Saturday night is not something you want to talk about again, but I’m not here to laugh at you, but simply to tell you how much I respect you for what you did. You were such an inspiration to me. I never could have done what you did. You stood up for what you believed and never gave in to temptation, no matter what price you had to pay for it. You, Melissa, are a true Christian, and I hope we can become better friends.”

I remember that day as if it were yesterday. Sarah and I have been close friends ever since. I wouldn’t have wanted that night to happen any other way. Even if this wasn’t the reward I had wanted from God in the beginning, this is the only reward I want now. Making a difference in somebody else’s life is the greatest reward you could ever ask for.

From “Stories For A Teen’s Heart Book 3”, pgs. 117-118

Leave a Reply

