“Do Not Fear!”

When communist authorities in Romania forced Richard Wurmbrand into a van as he walked to church on Febuary 29, 1948, he had a good reason to be scared. But he remembered something that morning that really helped him. This is what he said:

“I knew that I faced questioning, ill-treatment, possibly years of imprisonment and death, and I wondered if my faith was strong enough. I remembered then that in the Bible it is written 366 times – once for every day of the year – ‘Don’t be afraid!’ 366 times, not merely 365, to account for leap year. And this was February 29 – a coincidence that told me I need not fear!”

–Richard Wurmbrand, In God’s Underground

 

Leave a Reply

