“Karen The Lightbearer: Faith VS Doubt” Part Two

In the middle of the night, Eddy got up and went by himself to pray. He knelt on the cold ground and folded his hands, giving his heart-felt petitions to the Good King.

“Dear Master,” he began, “You have blessed me in many ways. Thank you for caring about me and for giving me such wonderful friends. Thank you for the times the Holy Spirit helped me to be brave. I don’t feel as scared like I did before, but to be honest, I’m a little afraid of seeing my enemies again. They are bigger and stronger than me. And they have weapons. I don’t have anything except the Light of Your Truth, which has been a great aide to me on the many adventures I’ve had with Karen. I ask that You’ll continually strengthen me with Your Words when I go to help my people, who are Your people. Please give them freedom from their slavery. May Karen and I be faithful in this mission. In Your Name, Amen.”

Eddy’s eyes felt heavy. His body wanted to go back to sleep but he wanted to stay where he was in case the Good King should speak to him in his heart. He tried fighting off the tired feeling and willed with all of his might to keep his eyes open. But he lost the battle. In a matter of minutes he laid on the ground and went to sleep. But as he slept he felt peace and a big smile was spread across his face. He knew that the Good King would save Small Faith from the Natives of Doubt.

As the sun rose up in the sky Karen got up and stretched. She saw that Eddy wasn’t in his sleeping spot. “I wonder where he went,” she said to herself. She checked around the place and saw him laying on the ground not to far from where they had rested for the night. He was snoring loudly.

Karen walked over to him and gently shook him. “Eddy, it’s time to wake up,” she said.

“Just a few more minutes mom,” he muttered in his sleep.

Karen chuckled and shook him again. “Eddy, it’s time for us to get going.”

Eddy opened his eyes and saw Karen. “Oh, good morning, Karen.” he then looked up at the sky. “It sure is a nice day today. Look how blue the sky looks.”

Karen smiled. “It’s another day that the Good King has made for us.”

Eddy stretched and got up. “I feel a bit sore from sleeping on this spot though.”

“Why did you move?” Karen asked him.

“I was talking to the Good King early this morning. I wanted to wait here in case he answered me but I ended up going back to sleep.”

Karen nodded understandingly. “Has he answered you while you were sleeping?” she asked.

“Nope, not in words anyway. I believe He answered me by giving me peace and assurance.” Eddy answered.

“About what?”

“I was feeling afraid because the people we are going to go against are bigger and stronger than we are. But I now believe that the Good King will deliver the Small Faith People from them through us. If He can defeat Goliath then He can defeat the Natives of Doubt.”

*******

In the slave quarters the Small Faith people were roused awake from their slumber by one of the slave masters.

“Alright you insects! Get to work! Sleepy time is over!” he commanded as he struck them with his whip. “The chief has more tasks for you to perform.”

The little people groaned as they put their shoes on. They still had their clothes on so they didn’t have to change. They were very dirty and smelled bad because Much Cruel wouldn’t let them bathe. He thought it was humorous seeing them in their condition and even cracked jokes about them while they worked to the bone. But his mean humor couldn’t crush their faith. They prayed to the Good King, declaring that in spite of their circumstances they would not lose faith in Him.

Back in the prison as the slave master pushed the prisoners out he spotted a little old man laying on a cot. “I said move it!” he barked.

The old man looked at him with eyes that were tired and worn. “Please sir,” he pleaded, I’m so weak. I can’t work anymore. Let me stay here and rest.”

The slave master flicked his whip at him. “Get up or I will whip you to death!”

The poor soul flinched as the whip touched him. Seeing that he had no option he very slowly got up from the cot and wobbled out with the slave master behind him to the garden. He saw his fellow Small Faith People being forced to harvest the food that they had sown with their own hands for the Natives of Doubt. The slave master pointed to an apple tree with his whip and forced the old man to carry a ladder to it. The slave moaned under the weight of the ladder. When he reached the tree he placed the ladder up and collapsed in front of it.

A young Small Faith Person named Billy, who was picking apples from a nearby tree saw what happened and hurried down from his ladder. The slave master was running toward the fallen slave to punish him but Billy was fast and managed to reach him before the slave master did. He spoke gently to the old man and felt his pulse. His heart was still beating but its rate was very slow.

The slave master flicked his whip at Billy. “Get back to work! I’ll handle him!” he hollered.

The young Small Faith Person didn’t budge. “He needs to rest. If you keep on pushing him he’ll die.” he stated not showing fear that he was talking back to a man that was much taller than him.

The slave master glared angrily at him. What gives this small fry the right to talk back to him? He flicked his whip at him again. Billy closed his eyes tight in pain but he still wouldn’t move.

A little woman who was mending shoes in one of the rooms of the mountain saw what was happening through an opened window. She quickly left her work and ran out of the mountain. A tall woman, who was the onlooker of the shoe menders ran after her. The little woman kept on running until she reached the apple tree. She dove herself on top of Billy to cover him from the whip.

“Stand back woman!” shouted the slave master. “Or do you wish to also feel my whip?”

The little woman wrapped her arms around Billy and turned to face the slave master. “I will not until you stop hurting him.” she said bravely.

The slave master growled. What’s the big idea of all of these little people defying him today? Seeing how steadfast she was in protecting the young man he knew that whipping her wouldn’t make a difference, it would only delay his job of watching the other slaves and forcing them to work.

“By the gods what am I supposed to do?” he shouted in frustration.

The chief came over with two of his guards. When he saw what was going on between the slave master and one of the slaves he chuckled. “Don’t tell me these puny creatures are getting the better of you!” The slave master quickly turned his head and bowed before the chief. “A thousand apologies, Chief Much Cruel. But as you can see there are some very stubborn ones that I have to put up with.”

“How did this happen?” Much Cruel inquired.

“The old man refused to do his task but before I could whip him back to work this other slave stood in my way, so I whipped him. Then this female slave came out of nowhere and is now blocking me from doing what I have to do.” the slave master explained.

The chief walked over to the little woman, who was still holding on tightly to Billy. “Listen, miss, you will go back to your appointed task or I will feed you to my tigers!”

The little woman winced at the idea of being fed to the chief’s pets.

Billy turned his head to face her. “You better do what he says, Sally. Don’t worry everything will be fine.” he whispered.

Sally reluctantly got off of him. She walked up to the chief and frowned at him and at the slave master. “You may treat us like worthless animals now, but one day we will be free!”

“Get going, you!” the chief commanded as he waved his staff threateningly at her.

Sally left and headed back to the mountain.

Billy got up from the ground and looked at Much Cruel. He tried to reason with Much Cruel to have pity on the elderly slave. “Chief, this poor man can’t work. He’s too weak. Let him rest.”

The chief poked the old man with the end of his staff. He didn’t move. Not bothering to check for any signs of life in him, Much Cruel said to his guards. “We are done here. Take this miserable slave away and feed him to my tigers.” The guards carried the old man and followed the chief back to the mountain.

Billy watched. Are they truly that heartless? Have they no compassion for anyone? he thought. He then felt the whip of the slave master and heard him yell, “Hey! Get to your tree over there!” Billy hurriedly returned to his tree and went back to picking apples. He then stopped for a moment and buried his face in his hands. Would more Small Faith People die before freedom came to them?

“Master, Lord of Heaven and Earth, help us! Make us free!” he prayed.

To Be Continued.

Leave a Reply

